Just when you think you're tough enough


Le Tour de Langkawi (LTDL) 2023 Promises The HEAT Of A World-Class Race

The 27th edition of the country’s premier cycling race, Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL), will once again greet local enthusiasts from 23 to 30 September 2023.

The organization of this world class race is a joint partnership between the Ministry of Youth and Sports (KBS) as the owner of LTdL and the Malaysia National Cycling Federation (PKBM) which is the governing body of the sport in the country.

This year’s edition will be handled by the National Sports Council (MSN) and will involve eight stages of racing over eight days across 11 states in Peninsular Malaysia with a total distance of 1,280 kilometers.

Previously MSN had a good record as an organiser of LTdL from 2012 to 2014 whereby they were awarded the ‘Excellence Level of Organisation’ by the world governing body, Union Cycliste International (UCI).

Read Also – DEVER Energy Gel Partners with Selangor Duathlon 2023 as Official Energy Gel Partner

The theme of this year’s race ‘Beat The Heat’ reflects the bitter test that await riders through the challenging climb to the top of Genting Highlands, enduring the scorching hot weather alongside the promise of warm cheers from fans all along the race route across the country.

This year’s LTdL will be able to intensify efforts to promote the country’s tourism industry after the end of the Covid-19 pandemic through the live broadcast of the race that will reach nearly 300 million viewers through international media such as EuroSports cable television channel and various local and international social media platforms.

On that note, KBS welcome support from various sponsors in coming forward to guarantee the smooth running of the organisation and intensify the excitement of this Pro-Series level race.

Read Also – Swimmer Ridzwan Rahim Achieves Historic Non-stop Swim from Redang Island to Mainland Terengganu

Among those who have expressed its support for the organisation this year is the Terengganu State Government where they will be hosting two stages of the race.

The list of teams that will participate in this edition of LTdL will be finalized soon, involving the minimum participation of three World Teams (UCI WorldTeam), seven Pro Teams (UCI ProTeam), 11 continental teams (UCI Continental) and one Malaysian National Team.