Just when you think you're tough enough

Global News

Shura Kitata and Brigid Kosgei win London Marathon 2020

Shura Kitata surprised the field and won the sprint to win the London Marathon. (virginmoneylondonmarathon.com)

Four-time winner and world-record holder Eliud Kipchoge was top favourite in the 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon but lost the title to compatriot Shura Kitata.

Kipchoge kept with the top group but succumbed to a hip injury in the final sprint to the finish line to claim the elite men’s title. 24-year-old farmer, Kitata become only the third Ethiopian to win the elite men’s title.

Read Also: Grace Goay and the Girls Just Wanna Have Fun Cycling in Penang

Read Also: Podium Winner Andy Lee Shares His Favourite Trails in Penang

In the elite women’s race, Brigid Kosgei held her billing as the top favourite to win by more than three minutes in 2:18:58. In rainy conditions, Kosgei dominated over second-place rival, American Sara Hall to win her second London Marathon crown.

Brigid Kosgei kept her top billing to win the London Marathon. (virginmoneylondonmarathon.com)

Read Also: Setting Goals for Future Gold

Men’s Elite
1. Shura Kitata (ETH) — 2:05:41
2. Vincent Kipchumba (KEN) — 2:05:42
3. Sisay Lemma (ETH) — 2:05:45
4. Mosinet Geremew (ETH) — 2:06:04
5. Mule Wasihun (ETH) — 2:06:08
6. Tamirat Tola (ETH) — 2:06:41
7. Benson Kipruto (KEN) — 2:06:42
8. Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) — 2:06:49
9. Sondre Moen (NOR) — 2:09:01
10. Marius Kipserem (KEN) — 2:09:25
17. Jared Ward (USA) — 2:12:38

Read Also: Ewegene Tan Shares Favourite Running Places in Taiping, Perak

Women’s Elite
1. Brigid Kosgei (KEN) — 2:18:58
2. Sara Hall (USA) — 2:22:01
3. Ruth Chepngetich (KEN) — 2:22:05
4. Ashete Bekele (ETH) — 2:22:51
5. Alemu Megertu (ETH) — 2:24:23
6. Molly Seidel (USA) — 2:25:13
7. Gerda Steyn (RSA) — 2:26:51
8. Sinead Diver (AUS) — 2:27:07
9. Darya Mykhaylova (UKR) — 2:27:29
10. Valary Jemeli (KEN) — 2:28:18
DNF. Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)