Just when you think you're tough enough

Global News Running

Fun Facts for Chicago Marathon 2019

(Chicago Marathon)

This weekend’s huge international marathon has to be Bank of America Chicago Marathon. Runners the world over look forward to this annual race in one of the largest cities in the United States of America.

Let’s look at some trivia on what makes this marathon so desirable.

  • This marathon is one of six marathons in the Abbott World Marathon Majors series. The others include Boston, New York, London, Berlin and Tokyo. Many hardcore runners chase for the 6-star medal to celebrate completion of the whole series.
  • It is a ballot registration process. While the 2019 edition takes place this Sunday, next year’s registration opens shortly on 21 October and ends on 3 December. Results will be announced on 12 December. Registration fees for non-U.S. runners will be at USD230 per person.
  • The first race took place in 1977 and registration fee was only USD5 then!

  • This 2019 edition will feature 45,000 runners, including 12,000 international participants from 135 countries.
  • The course record for men and women are set by Dennis Kimetto (2:03:45 in 2013) and Paula Radcliffe (2:17:18 in 2002). Cut-off time is set at 6:30 hours.
  • 1.7 million spectators are expected to be watching throughout the course.
  • 2019 men’s elite field includes:
    • four-time Olympic gold medalist and 2018 Bank of America Chicago Marathon champion, Mo Farah
    • 2016 Olympic marathon bronze medalist and 2017 Chicago Marathon champion, Galen Rupp
    • 2015 Chicago Marathon champion, Dickson Chumba
    • 2019 Boston Marathon champion Lawrence Cherono.

  • 2019 women’s elite field includes:
    • 2018 Bank of America Chicago Marathon and 2019 London Marathon champion, Brigid Kosgei
    • American marathon debut record holder Jordan Hasay
    • 2018 Paris Marathon champion Betsy Saina
    • 2018 U.S. marathon champion, Emma Bates,
    • Mexican national record holder Madai Perez
    • Three-time Olympian Lisa Weightman

If you’re inspired to run in the 2020 edition, save the ballot registration date coming up on 21 October.