Just when you think you're tough enough


Azizulhasni Awang wins Keirin as Malaysia sweeps 5 golds in Track Cycling at SEA Games 2017

Azizulhasni Awang performing a wheelie to celebrates his victory in the Keirin at the National Velodrome in Nilai. (TheStar)

Azizulhasni Awang celebrated across the finish line with a promised wheelie as he won the Keirin event gallantly on the final day of Track Cycling at the National Velo­drome in Nilai, Negri Sembilan for the 29th KL SEA Games 2017.

Donning the rainbow jersey as the reigning Keirin World Champion, Azizul started behind the field, but blazed ahead as the bell rang denoting the final lap. He was a class ahead of the rest, with teammate Muhd Shariz Efendi Mohd Shahrin securing 1-2 placing for Malaysia while Md. Nur Fathoni from Indonesia completed the podium.

Malaysia swept all five golds contested starting with the men’s 4km Team Pursuit by setting a time of 4:09.999 in the qualifying run to reach the final. The quartet of Afiq Huznie Oth­man, Irwandie Lakasek, Muhd Nur Aiman Mohd Zariff and Hamdan Hamidun overlapped Thai­land to win the gold.

In the men’s 1km Time Trial final, Muhammad Fadhil surprised the field when he beat teammate and favourite, Muhammad Shah Firdaus Sahrom with 1:01.889s. Muhammad Shah had to settle for silver, trailing one second behind and Singapore’s Mohamed Elyas Mohamed Yusoff completed the podium.

Fatehah Mustapa once again reigns as the Queen of Cycling and became the first cyclist to bag four gold medals in a single SEA Games edition. She won the 500m Time Trial and Keirin contested on the last day along with two other golds from Individual Sprint and Team Sprint.

Source: TheStar and KL2017